PDA

View Full Version : Making a transparency in AE



Pharoah
May 2nd, 2006, 23:48
How would I make a background dissapear??? I have a pic, with white in the background b/c in photoshop I had it transparent. So how would I take out the white in that specific layer in After Effects???

Professor Watkins
May 3rd, 2006, 08:54
What sort of file are you importing? Is it a .psd or did you use something else like .tif or jpg?

Pharoah
May 7th, 2006, 01:18
I used a .jpg. I am thinking psd with an alpha channel???

Thomas Monberg Thompson
May 7th, 2006, 17:57
Make it a tiff, then in the channels area create a new channel, called alpha, put it to white (or black depending which program you use) that will be visible and black (or white depending on which program you use) to make it hidden, then import

Professor Watkins
May 7th, 2006, 20:55
Yep. A PSD file comes in really well in AE (actually import it as a composition and all the layers stay separate). But a .jpg is defiinitely a no go; no alpha channels.

Pharoah
May 8th, 2006, 00:48
k, thank you very much!!!